12 Departments, Colombia




Ethnic Differentiated Focus (IRACA)

Ethnic minorities often face steep obstacles in their quest for better opportunities. Add to that geographical isolation, and what you get is a segment of the population that is nearly invisible to the rest of society.

To counter this problem PADF, Boeing and other corporate partners joined the Government of Colombia’s Department of Social Prosperity (DPS) in support of its efforts to help more than 10,000 isolated Afro-Colombian and indigenous families improve the way they plant crops, raise livestock and produce handcrafts and other products with the goal of increasing their incomes and access to available food.

A top priority for the administration of President Juan Manuel Santos, the Ethnic Differentiated Focus program, or IRACA, is the largest initiative ever undertaken in Colombia to assist isolated ethnic minorities in rural areas affected by decades of civil conflict. PADF expects to reach approximately 50,000 people of African and indigenous descent in more than 310 communities in 12 departments.

Amazonas, Antiquia, Casanare, Cauca, Cesar, Chocó, Guainía, Nariño, Norte de Santander, Putumayo, Valle del Cauca, and Vichada.